The name John has taken a new meaning in Ghana. There is you are John, you might as well habour presidential ambition. All the past three Presidents bear the name John.

Ghana currently has three former presidents, all of who incidentally bear the name ‘John’. Jerry John Rawlings founder of the main opposition National democratic Congress (NDC) ruled Ghana for 21 years. He served as military ruler for 13 years before transitioning into a democratic leader in 1992.

He won the first democratic polls under the current 1992 constitution and served two four year terms between 1992 –2000. He handed over to John Agyekum Kufuor of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) he also served between 2000 and 2008.

The immediate past leader, John Dramani Mahama, was Vice-president of John Evans Mills, who died whiles in office. Mahama served his remaining tenure before winning his first term in 2012. He, however, lost the December 2016 polls to incumbent Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.